Award Recipients


Announcement of Finalists and Winning Recipients of SBC Industry Achievement Awards!

Lifetime Achievement Awards Recipients:

Van Vlahakis, Owner and CEO, Earth Friendly Products and Patagonia were awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Van Vlahakis
Van Vlahakis Owner and Chief Executive Officer, Earth Friendly Products,
presented with SBC's Lifetime Achievement Award in Sustainability
by his daughter, Kelly Vlahakis-Hanks, VP, Earth Friendly Products.

Patagonia
Steve Glenn, Chair and Co-founder of the Sustainable Business Council
presents Patagonia with Lifetime Business Achievement Award, accepting
Jason McCaffrey, Director of Surf, Patagonia.

SBC’s Sustainable Business Award had 21 finalists competing:
American Solar Direct, www.americansolardirect.com
Amonix, Inc., www.amonix.com
Bowman Design Group, www.bowmandesigngroup.com
Brooks + Scarpa Architects, www.brooksscarpa.com
Casa Barranca Organic Winery, www.casabarranca.com
Eco-Me, www.eco-me.com
Evenson Design Group, www.evensondesign.com
Ecovations, www.ecovations.com
Kanner Architects, www.kannerarch.com
Growing Roots LLC, www.growingroots.com
LAcarGUY, www.lacarguy.com/green
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, www.ladwp.com
Miyako Hybrid Hotel, www.miyakohybridhotel.com
Nature Woven, www.naturewoven.com
Neat-os, www.neat-os.com
OM Spirits, www.omcocktails.com
Points West Group, www.yourecoteam.com
Repurpose, Inc., www.repurposecompostables.com
Rideshare, Inc., www.rideshare.la
Solar Universe of Westlake Village, www.solaruniverse.com
Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, www.thebonaventure.com

There are two recipients of SBC's Sustainable Business Award due to a tie.

Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Cherie Davis, General Manager, Miyako Hybrid Hotel
accepts SBC's Sustainable Business Award.


Alisha Auringer, Manager of the Environment,
LAcarGUY accepting SBC's Sustainable Business Award.

SBC's People's Choice: Sustinable Restaurants had eight restaurants competing:
Akasha, www.akasharestaurant.com
Euphoria Loves Rawvolution, www.elrcafe.com
Duke's Huntington Beach, www.TSrestaurants.com
Haven Gastropub, www.havengastropub.com
Taco Asylum, www.tacoasylum.com
Tender Greens, www.Tendergreensfood.com
Naya Sunset, www.nayasunset.com
And Oceans & Earth Restaurant, www.futurefoodsfarms.com

The recipient of SBC's People's Choice: Sustainable Restaurant Award is Duke's Huntington Beach.

Duke's Huntington Beach
(left to right)
Sustainable Restaurant Judge Moe Fakih, CEO, AEF Consulting, Engineering & Construction
presents Duke's Huntington Beach with Sustainable Restaurant Award, accepting are
Matthew Perez, Executive Chef and Brett Barnes, General Manager, Duke's Huntington Beach.